TOWN OF MUNSTER MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION DECEMBER 2, 2024

A meeting of the Munster Redevelopment Commission convened at 8:12 p.m. on Monday, December 2, 2024. Ordinance 1830 is the basis for holding electronic meetings. The announced meeting location was Munster Town Hall. Councilors, Staff, and the public had the option to participate via Zoom meeting technology.

Commissioners George Shinkan, Joseph G. Hofferth, Jonathan Petersen, David B. Nellans, and School Town of Munster Representative John Castro were physically present in Town Hall. Commissioner Gardiner was present virtually and visual throughout the meeting. Also present in Town Hall were Treasurer Wendy Mis, Controller/Interim Town Manager Patricia Abbott, Police Chief Steve Scheckel, and Town Attorney Dave Westland. The news media was represented.

PUBLIC COMMENT

All public comments are limited to two minutes with a total of twenty minutes allotted for the public comment section. All speakers must sign the Public Speaker Sign-in Form prior to speaking. Please keep all comments civil, constructive, and related to public policy issues. The Town of Munster accepts public comments submitted electronically. The public was informed, via the agenda posted at munster.org, that questions or comments about an item on the agenda were to be emailed to wmis@munster.org.

No one rose to claim the floor.

CONSENT AGENDA

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of the regular meeting on November 18, 2024

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE VOUCHER REGISTERS

Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-11G dated 11/21/24 totaling \$500.00 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-11H dated 11/27/24 totaling \$58,058.46 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-11I dated 11/29/24 totaling \$2,865.70 Confirmation of Voucher Register #R24-12A dated 12/02/24 totaling \$1,771.66

Commissioner Shinkan moved, with a second by Commissioner Hofferth, to suspend the rules, waive the readings, and adopt the Consent Agenda as presented. Commissioners Shinkan, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Nellans voted in favor; none voted against. Motion carried.

NEW BUSINESS

2025 ANNUAL MEETING

Indiana Code 36-7-25-8 mandates that certain information will be presented to "the governing bodies of all taxing units that have territory within an allocation area of the redevelopment commission." The information to be presented includes the commission's budget with respect to allocated property tax proceeds, the long-term plans for the allocation area, and the impact on each of the taxing units. Accordingly, the following representatives of taxing units were invited to the Annual Meeting this evening.

The Honorable David Hamm, Lake County Council, 1st District

The Honorable Charlie Brown, Lake County Council, 6^{th} District

The Honorable Pete Lindemulder, Lake County Council, 4th District

Mr. John Castro, President, Munster Board of School Trustees, with a copy to Mr. Bret Heller, Superintendent

The Honorable Peter Katic, President, North Township Board, with a copy to The Honorable Adrian Santos, North Township Trustee

Mr. Lawrence (Larry) Acheff, President, Lake County Public Library Board of Trustees, with copies to Ms. Carol Daumer Gutahr, Director & CEO and Mr. Michael Ayala, Munster Branch Head

Mr. Sam Dimopoulos, President, Hammond Sanitary District Board of Sanitary Commissioners, with copies to Commissioner Michael R. Hawkins, Sr. and Mr. Milan Kruszynski, District Manager

The Honorable David D Nellans, President, Munster Town Council, with a copy to Ms. Patricia Abbott, Town Manager

The required information was presented, and a hard copy was mailed to each taxing unit for reference. No other action was taken by the Commission.

ADJOURNMENT

					D .1D .	Vallanc Pro	•1 4	
seconded by Comn	issioner Hofferth the	e meeting adjou	irned at 8:1	5 p.m.				
	ig no further busine				and upon	a monon by	Commissioner	Siiiika

ATTEST:	David B. Nellans, President
Wendy Mis, Executive Secretary	