TOWN OF MUNSTER MINUTES OF A REGULAR MEETING OF THE TOWN COUNCIL JANUARY 6, 2025

A meeting of the Munster Town Council convened at 6:30 p.m. on Monday, January 6, 2025. Ordinance 1830 is the basis for holding electronic meetings. The announced meeting location was Munster Town Hall, 1005 Ridge Road, Munster, Indiana. Councilors, Staff, and the public had the option to participate via Zoom meeting technology.

Councilors George Shinkan, Joseph G. Hofferth, Chuck Gardiner, David B. Nellans, and Jonathan Petersen, and were physically present at Town Hall. Also present in Town Hall were Clerk-Treasurer Wendy Mis, Controller/Interim Town Manager Patricia Abbott, Police Chief Stephen Scheckel, Fire Chief Mark Hajduk, Town Attorney Dave Westland, Director of Operations Bob Valois, and Hammond Sanitary District representative Mike Hawkins. Representatives from the media were present.

President Shinkan presided and opened the meeting with a moment of silence, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

PUBLIC COMMENT

The Town of Munster accepts public comments submitted both in-person and electronically. The public was informed, via the agenda posted at munster.org, that questions or comments about an item on the agenda were to be emailed to wmis@munster.org. All in-person public comments are limited to two minutes and limited to a total of twenty minutes for the public comment section.

No one rose to the floor.

CONSENT AGENDA

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of a regular meeting held on December 16, 2024

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE VOUCHER REGISTERS

Confirmation of Voucher Register #24-12H dated 12/19/24 totaling \$3,253,075.28 Confirmation of Voucher Register #24-12I dated 12/27/24 totaling \$1,385,876.27 Confirmation of Voucher Register #24-12J dated 12/27/24 totaling \$524,765.12 Approval of Voucher Register #25-1A dated 01/06/25 totaling \$85,369.15 Confirmation of Voucher Register #25-1B dated 01/02/25 totaling \$3,666.21

TREASURER'S REPORT

The November 2024 Treasurer's Report was presented.

REPORT ON TEMPORARY LOANS

On December 2, 2024, the Town Council approved Resolution 2143, "A Resolution for the Temporary Loan and Transfer of Funds Among Various Fund Accounts," to authorize temporary loans to remedy any cash deficient situations at year's end. The amounts from the originating funds and to the recipient funds were identified as "to be determined."

The final tax draw of 2024 was enough to cover all cash needs. In other words, no temporary loans were needed.

Councilor Gardiner moved, with a second by Councilor Nellans, to suspend the rules, waive the readings, and adopt the Consent Agenda as amended. Councilors Nellans, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Shinkan voted in favor; none voted against. Motion passed.

NEW BUSINESS

APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

BOARD OF SAFETY, PARK BOARD, RDA TDD STEERING COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Councilor Hofferth moved, with a second by Councilor Nellans, to reappoint Robert Dershewitz to the Board of Safety for a three-year term to end December 31, 2027, Robert Dershewitz to the Board of Safety three-year term expiring December 31, 2027, appoint Stephen Glombicki to the Board of Safety three-year term expiring December 31, 2027, appoint Jose Gutierrez to the Park Board for a four-year term expiring December 31, 2028, and reappoint Councilor Chuck Gardiner to the RDA Transit Development District Steering Committee for a one-year term ending December 31, 2025.

Councilors Nellans, Hofferth, Gardiner, Petersen, and Shinkan voted in favor; none voted against. Motion passed.

The term of Mike Sowards (D) expired on December 31, 2024. Mr. Sowards was initially appointed to the Park Board on December 22, 2014. Mr. Sowards was recognized for his many years of service to the Town of Munster.

PORTFOLIO ASSIGNMENTS

2025 COUNCIL PORTFOLIO ASSIGNMENTS

The list of Council Portfolio Assignments was presented. Council President Shinkan is assigned to the Redevelopment Commission, Munster Civic Foundation, Police Pension Board, liaison to the Board of Safety, Plan Commission and alternate to Lake County Solid Waste Management Board. Councilor Hofferth is assigned to the Redevelopment Commission, Munster Civic Foundation, Plan Commission and alternate to Lake County Solid Waste Management Board. Councilor Gardiner is assigned to the Redevelopment Commission, Munster Civic Foundation, Liaison to the Park Board, and to the Lake County Solid Waste Management Board. Councilor Nellans is assigned to the Redevelopment Commission, Munster Civic Foundation, Plan Commission and Lake County Solid Waste Management Board. Councilor Petersen is assigned to Redevelopment Commission, Munster Civic Foundation, and alternate to Lake County Solid Waste Management Board.

Councilor Petersen motioned to table the portfolio assignments. The motion died for lack of second.

Councilor Gardiner moved, with a second by Councilor Hofferth to appoint Councilors Hofferth, Nellans and Shinkan to the Plan Commission. Councilor Petersen requested more time to review the appointments. Councilors Nellans, Hofferth, Gardiner, and Shinkan voted in favor; Councilor Petersen voted against. Motion passed

REPORTS

No reports were presented.

PORTFOLIO REPORTS

No portfolio reports were presented.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

(Unless stated otherwise, all meetings of the Town Council begin at 6:30 p.m. at Munster Town Hall.)

The Town Council will hold a regular meeting on Monday, January 20, 2025. The Redevelopment Commission will hold a regular meeting immediately following.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Council, and upon a motion by Councilor Nellans and seconded by Councilor Gardiner, the meeting adjourned at 6:41p.m. by voice vote.

		George Shinkan, President	
ATTEST:			
Wendy Mis, Cler	rk-Treasurer		